See all tools

Alternative investment allocation database

Asset Allocation Database

Review alternative investment allocations from endowments, family offices and investor networks, pensions and sovereign funds, and sponsor and manager research.

Showing 51 of 51

Alaska Permanent Fund

U.S. sovereign permanent fund

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Public Equities
33%
Fixed Income
20%
Private Equity
17%
Real Estate
11%
Private Income
9%
Absolute Return
7%
Tactical Opportunities
1%
Cash
2%

Private Income and Tactical Opportunities are retained as source-native categories; AltTrack does not infer their internal strategy mix.

Total fund return

9.35%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Apollo — 20% Private Markets

Alternative-asset-manager research model

As of June 30, 2025 (modeled history begins December 31, 2006) · Research model

Public equity
48%
Public fixed income
32%
Private equity and secondaries
10%
Private debt and direct lending
9%
Private infrastructure
1%
Private real estate
1%

This is Apollo's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

Not disclosed

Apollo — 40% Private Markets

Alternative-asset-manager research model

As of June 30, 2025 (modeled history begins December 31, 2006) · Research model

Public equity
36%
Public fixed income
24%
Private equity and secondaries
21%
Private debt and direct lending
16%
Private infrastructure
1%
Private real estate
1%

This is Apollo's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

Not disclosed

Apollo — 60% Private Markets

Alternative-asset-manager research model

As of June 30, 2025 (modeled history begins December 31, 2006) · Research model

Public equity
24%
Public fixed income
16%
Private equity and secondaries
32%
Private debt and direct lending
25%
Private infrastructure
2%
Private real estate
2%

This is Apollo's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

Not disclosed

Apollo — 80% Private Markets

Alternative-asset-manager research model

As of June 30, 2025 (modeled history begins December 31, 2006) · Research model

Public equity
12%
Public fixed income
8%
Private equity and secondaries
42%
Private debt and direct lending
32%
Private infrastructure
2%
Private real estate
2%

This is Apollo's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

Not disclosed

Ares — Growth

Asset-manager research model

As of June 2025 (modeled history begins December 2004) · Research model

Public fixed income
20%
Public equity
20%
Private equity
20%
Private infrastructure
15%
Private real estate
12%
Alternative risk premia
13%

This is Ares's own hypothetical model and stated analysis, not a real institution's holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

~9%

December 2004–June 2025

Ares — Income

Asset-manager research model

As of June 2025 (modeled history begins December 2004) · Research model

Public fixed income
53%
Private credit
22%
Private real estate
14%
Private infrastructure
11%

This is Ares's own hypothetical model and stated analysis, not a real institution's holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

~6%

December 2004–June 2025

Ares — Moderate Growth

Asset-manager research model

As of June 2025 (modeled history begins December 2004) · Research model

Public fixed income
30%
Public equity
11%
Private equity
15%
Private infrastructure
14%
Private real estate
13%
Private credit
5%
Alternative risk premia
12%

This is Ares's own hypothetical model and stated analysis, not a real institution's holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

~8%

December 2004–June 2025

Ares — Moderate Income

Asset-manager research model

As of June 2025 (modeled history begins December 2004) · Research model

Public fixed income
45%
Public equity
4%
Private equity
6%
Private infrastructure
12%
Private real estate
14%
Private credit
14%
Alternative risk premia
5%

This is Ares's own hypothetical model and stated analysis, not a real institution's holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

~7%

December 2004–June 2025

Australia Disaster Ready Fund

Australian government investment fund

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Australian equities
5.6%
Global equities — Developed markets
13.4%
Global equities — Emerging markets
3%
Private equity
5.9%
Property
4.4%
Infrastructure
6.9%
Credit
20.8%
Alternatives
17.2%
Cash
22.9%

This is a separately mandated Australian government fund managed by the Future Fund Management Agency, not the main Future Fund portfolio.

Total fund return

10.3%

Year ended June 30, 2025

Australia Future Fund

Sovereign wealth fund

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Australian equities
10.8%
Global equities — Developed markets
25.8%
Global equities — Emerging markets
5.7%
Private equity
13.3%
Property
4.4%
Infrastructure and timberland
11.4%
Credit
8.9%
Alternatives
14.7%
Cash
5.1%

Returns are for the Future Fund itself, not the agency’s other separately mandated funds.

Total fund return

12.2%

Year ended June 30, 2025

Blackstone — 30% Private Markets

Alternative-asset-manager educational model

As of December 31, 2023 (10-year modeled history) · Research model

Equity
45%
Fixed income
25%
Private equity
10%
Private credit
10%
Private real estate
10%

This is Blackstone's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

7.4%

January 1, 2014–December 31, 2023

Blue Owl — Capital Appreciation

Alternative-asset-manager private-wealth research model

As of December 31, 2023 (modeled history begins December 31, 2015) · Research model

Public equity
42%
Fixed income
28%
Private equity
18%
Private credit
6%
Private real estate
6%

This is Blue Owl's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

10.48%

December 31, 2015–December 31, 2023

Blue Owl — Diversified Alternatives

Alternative-asset-manager private-wealth research model

As of December 31, 2023 (modeled history begins December 31, 2015) · Research model

Public equity
42%
Fixed income
28%
Private equity
10%
Private credit
10%
Private real estate
10%

This is Blue Owl's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

9.86%

December 31, 2015–December 31, 2023

Blue Owl — Enhanced Income

Alternative-asset-manager private-wealth research model

As of December 31, 2023 (modeled history begins December 31, 2015) · Research model

Public equity
42%
Fixed income
28%
Private credit
15%
Private real estate
15%

This is Blue Owl's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

9.09%

December 31, 2015–December 31, 2023

BofA wealthy Americans — ages 21–43

U.S. high-net-worth individual survey cohort

As of 2024 survey · Survey composite

Alternatives
17%
Crypto
14%
Stock
28%
Bonds
19%
Cash
19%
Other
5%

This is an age-cohort average reported by high-net-worth individuals making personal allocation decisions, not institutional holdings, a target allocation, or a recommendation.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

BofA wealthy Americans — ages 44+

U.S. high-net-worth individual survey cohort

As of 2024 survey · Survey composite

Alternatives
5%
Crypto
1%
Stock
55%
Bonds
19%
Cash
15%
Other
5%

This is an age-cohort average reported by high-net-worth individuals making personal allocation decisions, not institutional holdings, a target allocation, or a recommendation.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

CalPERS

U.S. public pension

As of April 30, 2026 · Actual holding

Public equity
36.3%
Private equity
19.5%
Income
31.1%
Real assets
12.6%
Private debt
4.3%
Other trust level
2.7%

'Income' is CalPERS' asset-class label and must not be mistaken for portfolio distributions. CalPERS launched a Total Portfolio Approach in July 2026; its former 40% private-markets target is historical and is not shown here.

Total fund return

14.8%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2026

CalSTRS

U.S. public pension

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Public Equity
41.2%
Private Equity
15.1%
Real Estate
12.8%
Fixed Income
12%
Collaborative Strategies
1.8%
Inflation Sensitive
6.9%
Risk Mitigating Strategies
7.3%
Strategic Overlay
0%
Cash-Unallocated
2.8%
Futures Offset
0.1%

The report notes that derivatives providing additional public-equity exposure are not included in the allocation table.

Total fund return

8.53%

Year ended June 30, 2025

Capgemini global HNW investors

Global high-net-worth individual survey composite

As of January 2024 · Survey composite

Cash and cash equivalents
25%
Fixed income
20%
Real estate
19%
Equities
21%
Alternative investments
15%

This is a global average reported by individual high-net-worth respondents, including more than 1,300 ultra-high-net-worth respondents, not an institutional allocation or recommendation.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

Coca-Cola U.S. pension plan

Corporate defined-benefit pension

As of December 31, 2025 filing · Policy target

Equity securities
32%
Fixed-income securities
37%
Alternative investments
31%

The company defines alternative investments as including hedge funds, reinsurance, private-equity limited partnerships, and real assets, but does not publish each component's percentage. Those broad categories are not split here.

Total fund return

3.8%

Five years ended December 31, 2025

CPP Investments

Canadian public pension

As of March 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Public equities
29%
Private equities
29%
Government bonds
15%
Credit
11%
Infrastructure
9%
Real estate
7%

CPP Investments uses a hybrid implementation model spanning direct investments, co-investments and partners, secondary investments, and fund investments. The displayed actual combined-fund allocation is distinct from its leveraged strategic targets.

Total fund return

9.3%

Fiscal year ended March 31, 2025

Florida Retirement System Pension Plan

U.S. public pension

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Global Equity
48.8%
Fixed Income
20.4%
Real Estate
9.4%
Private Equity
9%
Strategic Investments
6%
Active Credit
5.4%
Cash Equivalents/Short Term
1.2%

Strategic Investments and Active Credit remain source-native categories. Active Credit combines public and private exposures, so AltTrack does not recast it as private credit.

Total fund return

10.32%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

FOX China family offices

Regional family-office survey composite

As of Calendar year 2023 · Survey composite

Cash and fixed income
41%
Public equity
21%
Real assets
15%
Private equity
17%
Hedge funds and other
6%

This regional case study covers only 24 China-based family offices, and some visuals may have fewer responses. It is useful as a distinct peer reference, not as a global or North American family-office norm.

Average portfolio return

12.7%

Calendar year 2023

Goldman Sachs global family offices

Global family-office survey composite

As of 2025 survey · Survey composite

Public Equities
31%
Private Equity
21%
Private Real Estate & Infrastructure
11%
Private Credit
4%
Hedge Funds
6%
Fixed Income
11%
Commodities
1%
Cash
12%

This is an average across a global family-office survey, not an individual family office’s holdings, a recommended allocation, or an investable composite.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

Harvard

University endowment

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Public equities
14%
Hedge funds
31%
Private equity
41%
Real estate
5%
Bonds/TIPS
4%
Other real assets
3%
Cash
3%

Private-equity subcategories disclosed by Harvard are not split in the card’s source-native allocation list.

Total fund return

11.9%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Healthcare of Ontario Pension Plan

Canadian public pension

As of December 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Capital markets
65%
Private markets
35%

HOOPP publicly discloses a complete but unusually broad two-category allocation. Capital markets and private markets are preserved exactly and are not subdivided from narrative descriptions.

Total fund return

7.7%

Year ended December 31, 2025

Housing Australia Future Fund

Australian government investment fund

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Australian equities
5.6%
Global equities — Developed markets
13.4%
Global equities — Emerging markets
3%
Private equity
5.9%
Property
4.4%
Infrastructure
6.9%
Credit
20.8%
Alternatives
17.2%
Cash
22.8%

This is a separately mandated Australian government fund managed by the Future Fund Management Agency, not the main Future Fund portfolio. Its short track record reflects a November 2023 inception.

Total fund return

10.0%

Year ended June 30, 2025

iCapital — Expanded Portfolio with Alternatives

Alternative-investment platform research model

As of April 30, 2025 (20-year analysis through December 2024) · Research model

Equities
50%
Fixed income
25%
Private equity
15%
Private credit
5%
Hedge fund
5%

This is iCapital's own hypothetical whole-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled historical return

Not disclosed

La Caisse (CDPQ)

Canadian public institutional investor

As of December 31, 2024 · Actual holding

Equity Markets
27.5%
Private Equity
19.1%
Rates
10.3%
Credit
21.7%
Short Term Investments
0.8%
Real Estate
8.9%
Infrastructure
13.6%
Asset Allocation
0.1%

CDPQ rebranded as La Caisse after this reporting period. The historical report name is retained so the citation remains auditable.

Total fund return

9.4%

Year ended December 31, 2024

Michigan State Employees’ Retirement System

U.S. public pension

As of September 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Domestic Equity Pools
22.1%
International Equity Pools
15.5%
Private Equity Pools
20.6%
Real Estate and Infrastructure Pools
8.5%
Fixed Income Pools
10.1%
Absolute Return Pools
9.3%
Real Return and Opportunistic Pools
9.2%
Short-Term Investment Pools
4.6%

Real Return and Opportunistic Pools is a combined source category and is not split or recast.

Total fund return

9.59%

Fiscal year ended September 30, 2025

NACUBO/Commonfund

Survey composite

As of June 30, 2025 · Survey composite

Public equities
31.5%
Private/alternative strategies
54.5%
Fixed income
11%
Other
3%

Alternatives ranged from 12.5% for institutions under $50 million to 62.5% for institutions over $5 billion. The all-participant dollar-weighted allocation is not representative of a typical institution or individual investor.

Total fund return

10.9%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Neuberger Berman — Proxy

Asset-manager committed-capital liquidity model

As of November 30, 2021 · Research model

Equity
10%
Fixed income
10%
Liquid alternatives
65%
Uncorrelated diversifiers
10%
Cash
5%

This is Neuberger Berman's own hypothetical committed-capital liquidity-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled expected return

6.8%

Capital market assumptions as of November 30, 2021

Neuberger Berman — SAA Carveout

Asset-manager committed-capital liquidity model

As of November 30, 2021 · Research model

Equity
35%
Fixed income
40%
Liquid alternatives
10%
Uncorrelated diversifiers
10%
Cash
5%

This is Neuberger Berman's own hypothetical committed-capital liquidity-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled expected return

3.78%

Capital market assumptions as of November 30, 2021

Neuberger Berman — Volatility Control

Asset-manager committed-capital liquidity model

As of November 30, 2021 · Research model

Equity
15%
Fixed income
80%
Liquid alternatives
0%
Uncorrelated diversifiers
0%
Cash
5%

This is Neuberger Berman's own hypothetical committed-capital liquidity-portfolio model and stated analysis, not real client holdings, a neutral market fact, an investable portfolio, or a recommendation from AltTrack.

Modeled expected return

1.89%

Capital market assumptions as of November 30, 2021

New York State Common Retirement Fund

U.S. public pension

As of March 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Publicly traded equities
39.2%
Cash, bonds, and mortgages
23%
Private equity
14.9%
Real estate and real assets
14.1%
Credit, absolute return strategies, and opportunistic alternatives
8.8%

The public release combines unlike exposures in two broad source-native categories. AltTrack preserves those labels instead of guessing at an internal split.

Total fund return

5.84%

Fiscal year ended March 31, 2025

New York State Teachers’ Retirement System

U.S. public pension

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Domestic Equity
32.8%
International Equity
15.6%
Global Equity
4.5%
Real Estate Equity
10.4%
Private Equity
9.8%
Domestic Fixed Income
14.8%
High-Yield Bonds
0.9%
Global Bonds
2%
Real Estate Debt
5.9%
Private Debt
1.9%
Cash Equivalents
1.4%

The source separately reports real-estate equity and real-estate debt; AltTrack preserves both rather than combining them.

Total fund return

10.6%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

New Zealand Superannuation Fund

Sovereign wealth fund

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Listed equities (3% Emerging Markets, 4% New Zealand, 47% Developed Markets)
54%
Fixed income (3% corporate debt securities, 5% other, 10% Treasury)
18%
Private Equity
5%
Real Estate
5%
Alternatives
8%
Infrastructure
4%
Rural and timber
5%
Other (cash and miscellaneous)
1%

The report provides parenthetical detail within its broad listed-equity and fixed-income categories. Those source-native labels are retained rather than split into reconstructed slices.

Total fund return

11.84%

Year ended June 30, 2025

Norway Government Pension Fund Global

Sovereign wealth fund

As of December 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Listed equities
71.3%
Fixed income
26.5%
Unlisted real estate
1.7%
Unlisted renewable-energy infrastructure
0.4%

Norway had 2.1% combined in the two disclosed unlisted real-asset categories and no private-equity allocation.

Total fund return

15.11%

Calendar year ended December 31, 2025

OMERS

Canadian public pension

As of December 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Government Bonds
10.8%
Public Credit
12.1%
Private Credit
14.4%
Public Equities
20.1%
Private Equities
17.4%
Infrastructure
22.1%
Real Estate
15%

Public and private credit remain separate source-native categories, as disclosed in the annual report.

Total fund return

6.0%

Year ended December 31, 2025

Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

Canadian public pension

As of December 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Public equity
18%
Private equity
19%
Venture growth
6%
Fixed income
23%
Commodities
12%
Natural resources
4%
Inflation hedge
4%
Real estate
10%
Infrastructure
13%
Credit
14%
Absolute return strategies
9%

Credit is retained as a source-native category and is not reassigned without a published split.

Total fund return

6.7%

Year ended December 31, 2025

Pennsylvania Public School Employees’ Retirement System

U.S. public pension

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Public Equity
31.3%
Private Equity
12.5%
Public Fixed Income
23.8%
Private Fixed Income
7.4%
Public Real Assets
10.3%
Private Real Assets
12%
Tail Risk Mitigation
0.1%
Opportunistic
1%
Total Net Leverage
1.6%

Total Net Leverage is positive in this snapshot and remains a separately labeled source-native category rather than being recast as an asset class.

Total fund return

9.67%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

PSP Investments

Canadian public-sector pension investment manager

As of March 31, 2026 · Actual holding

Capital Markets
51.3%
Private Equity
12.2%
Credit Investments
10.9%
Infrastructure
10%
Real Estate
8.7%
Natural Resources
6.1%
Cash and cash equivalents
0.8%

Capital Markets and Credit Investments are broad source-native categories. They are not subdivided without a published percentage split.

Total fund return

6.5%

Fiscal year ended March 31, 2026

RBC/Campden North American family offices

Family-office survey composite

As of Calendar year 2024 · Survey composite

Cash and liquid assets
10%
Government bonds — developed markets
9%
Government bonds — developing markets
1%
Equities — developed markets
24%
Equities — developing markets
3%
Private equity — direct investments
9%
Private equity funds
11%
Venture capital
5%
Private credit/direct lending
4%
Real estate
18%
Hedge funds
3%
Commodities
1%
Gold/precious metals
1%
Forestry/agricultural land
1%
Cryptocurrency/digital assets
0%

The allocation is an average across participating North American family offices, not a recommended portfolio or an investable composite. Individual family-office portfolios vary materially.

Estimated portfolio return

11%

Calendar year 2024

Stanford Merged Pool

University endowment investment pool

As of October 8, 2025 · Policy target

Domestic Equity
8%
International Equity
15%
Private Equity
38%
Real Assets
10%
Absolute Return
19%
Fixed Income and Cash
10%

The allocation is a policy target dated one day after Stanford published the Merged Pool return through June 30, 2025. The two dates are shown separately and are not represented as same-day actual holdings.

Total fund return

14.3%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Teacher Retirement System of Texas

U.S. public pension

As of August 31, 2025 · Actual holding

Public Equity - All Country
37.16%
USA
0%
Non-US Developed
5.38%
Emerging Markets
0.97%
Private Equity
15.32%
Government Bonds - Nominal
8.7%
Government Bonds - Real
3.13%
Absolute Return
3.91%
Stable Value Hedge Funds
4.87%
Real Estate
13.42%
Energy, Natural Resources & Infrastructure
6.88%
Commodities
0.16%
Risk Parity
4.82%
Cash
1.95%

The ACFR return table is dated June 30, 2025 while the allocation is dated August 31, 2025. Both are for the same Pension Trust Fund, but the two-month date difference remains explicit.

Total fund return

10.75%

Year ended June 30, 2025

TIGER 21 members

High-net-worth individual investor network

As of Q4 2024 (trailing 12 months) · Survey composite

Real Estate
28%
Private Equity
28%
Public Equities
23%
Cash & Cash Equivalent
9%
Fixed Income
7%
Hedge Funds
2%
Miscellaneous
1%
Currencies
1%
Commodities
1%

This is an aggregate of allocation decisions reported by individual high-net-worth TIGER 21 members, not an institutional portfolio, recommended allocation, or investable composite.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

UBS global family offices

Global family-office survey composite

As of 2025 strategic allocation · Survey composite

Fixed income — developed markets
14%
Fixed income — emerging markets
3%
Equities — developed markets
27%
Equities — emerging markets
5%
Cash or cash equivalent
9%
Private equity — direct investments
8%
Private equity — funds / funds of funds
9%
Private debt
3%
Hedge funds
6%
Real estate
11%
Infrastructure
1%
Gold
2%
Precious metals excluding gold
0%
Commodities
1%
Art and antiques
1%

This is the reported global average for very large family offices, not an individual investor’s allocation, a recommendation, or an investable composite.

Average portfolio return

Not disclosed

Virginia Retirement System

U.S. public pension

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Public Equity
33.6%
Private Equity
16%
Real Assets
12.7%
Credit Strategies
15.2%
Diversifying Strategies
4.1%
Private Investment Partnerships
1.8%
Exposure Management Portfolio
0.8%
Fixed Income
15.2%
Cash
1.8%

Private Investment Partnerships is a source-native mixed category. It is not reassigned to a single canonical private-market category.

Total fund return

9.9%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Washington State Investment Board CTF

U.S. public pension commingled trust

As of June 30, 2025 · Actual holding

Fixed Income
15.3%
Tangible Assets
7.1%
Real Estate
18.5%
Public Equity
27.9%
Private Equity
28.5%
Innovation
1.2%
Cash
1.6%

The allocation table is the CTF by-asset-class view. The same report also shows an overlay-adjusted column; AltTrack does not blend the two presentations.

Total fund return

9.04%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

Yale

University endowment

As of FY2020 (published September 2019) · Policy target

Absolute return
23%
Venture capital
21.5%
Leveraged buyouts
16.5%
Foreign equity
13.75%
Real estate
10%
Bonds and cash
7%
Natural resources
5.5%
Domestic equity
2.75%

Yale has not published a comparably detailed current allocation in its recent public return releases. This is a historical target and must not be presented as Yale's current allocation.

Total fund return

5.7%

Fiscal year ended June 30, 2019

Questions about the data

How can this data help me?

This gives you real reference points for how institutional investors, wealth managers, and fund sponsors actually approach combining public markets with private equity, real estate, private credit, and other alternative investments. Seeing the disclosed range — from a sovereign fund with no private equity at all to an endowment allocating more than 40% — offers real context for thinking through your own alternative investment allocation. Sponsor and manager research shows the thinking and construction behind portfolios from firms that individual investors might actually invest through. Peer surveys from investor networks show how other individual and high-net-worth investors allocate in practice, which may be more directly relevant to your own situation than a large institution's holdings.

What do these allocations show?

They show dated allocations and documented returns reported by selected institutions and surveys, plus clearly labeled hypothetical research-firm models. Each entry identifies whether its allocation is an actual holding, policy target, survey composite, or research model, and labels the return according to its source and denominator.

Can I use one of these as my own target allocation?

These figures are shown as reference points, not a recommendation. Research models are hypothetical analyses rather than actual holdings. Institutions differ from individual investors in liquidity needs, tax treatment, time horizon, access to managers, staffing, and governance — all factors that affect what allocation is appropriate for any specific investor. For a closer look at how these considerations apply to individual portfolios, see how much of your portfolio should be in alternative investments.

Why don't the categories match?

Each source defines and reports its own categories. We preserve those labels rather than forcing unlike strategies into a common taxonomy.

Where does the data come from?

The figures come from the institutions' reports, regulatory filings, and the named survey and research publications. Review every citation, transformation, and methodology note on the allocation sources and methodology page.

Allocation figures shown are based on each source's public disclosures, sourced and dated for each entry. Institutional and survey allocations may not reflect current allocations, which can change over time; sponsor and manager models are hypothetical analyses, not actual holdings. None are independently verified by AltTrack. Categories, return methods, and definitions vary by source and are not standardized across entries — figures from different entries should not be treated as measured on the same basis. AltTrack is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any institution, survey provider, sponsor, or manager referenced on this page. This content is provided for general informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation regarding your own portfolio.